Recycling

Before I came to Australia I had the idea that this country was a kind of southern Scandinavia, but now I see that I was wrong. I thought in Spain we were behind the recycling trend and I was wrong again.

Here you put every plastic, metal and glass container in the same bin, and I am not sure about what happens after they are collected. In Spain we have a bin for plastic and metal (generally, but in many places they collect plastic and metal in different bins) and another one for glass; plus two different ones for paper and general waste (organic). As a consequence every house should have, at least, four different bins: containers, glass, paper and organic.

I was wondering what would happen if we apply in the ‘cradle to cradle’ theory.

We would have on one hand a series of materials that could be recycled or reused as a resource. Should they be separated in different bins? Should we disassembly the products at home or should be a business taking charge of it?

On the other hand we would have compostable materials and organic waste. I suppose that in a big city not every household can have a compost place so then every building or every neighbourhood or the whole city should have it instead?

Finally, should the council charge us for the garbage collection when they can make money from our waste? Should it be free? Or, moreover, should the companies pay us for these resources?

Leave a comment